My music > WEINBERG, M.: Violin Sonatas
September 9th, 2017

standard WEINBERG, M.: Violin Sonatas


Violin Sonata No. 5, Op. 53
I. Andante con moto

From WEINBERG, M.: Violin Sonatas (2017)

Released by Naxos

Weinberg: Violin Sonata No. 5, Op. 53 – I. Andante con moto

Mieczysław Weinberg is now recognised as one of the outstanding Russian composers of the second half of the twentieth century. Feted for his symphonies and string quartets, he also wrote a sequence of Violin Sonatas crucial to the development of his distinctive and elusive musical idiom. Shostakovich’s influence is evident in the Third Violin Sonata, as are Jewish melodic elements, while the Fourth Violin Sonata is alternately sombre and hectic. His masterpiece is the Fifth Violin Sonata, symphonic in scale but subtle in form, and containing some of his most affecting writing.

Official Website

More in My Music:

Latest Articles:

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *